Linux and xboard

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

Chan Rasjid

Linux and xboard

Post by Chan Rasjid »

Hello,

I've just installed Fedora7 and also xboard.

I'm new to Linux. How come xboard is not exactly like winboard. There is no option to set time control.
Where is the "winboard.ini" for linux,etc to install engines?

Thanks
Rasjid
Volker Pittlik
Full name: Volker Pittlik

Re: Linux and xboard

Post by Volker Pittlik »

Chan Rasjid wrote:Hello,

I've just installed Fedora7 and also xboard.

I'm new to Linux. How come xboard is not exactly like winboard. There is no option to set time control.
Where is the "winboard.ini" for linux,etc to install engines?
It is not so comfortable as Winboard. A *.ini file does not exist. In all distributions I saw it comes completly unconfigured so that it is displayed with a gigantic board, complaining missing GNUchess (Ubuntu), Crafty (Suse) or something I can't remember (Fedora) and exiting without doing something.

However there are several ways to use it easily. A condition is that you are willing to learn a little bit about Linux what I presume in your case.

This is the way I do it. I don't claim this is the best method but it works for me.

Configuring Xboard: If I want to play I just want to type a short command and the game should begin. This is "xb" or "xb-hum" on my machine. Of course you can name the commands as you like. Both are litte shell scripts located within the path (~/bin in my case).

Because I'm to lazy to type something like:

Code: Select all

xboard -tc <seconds> -inc <seconds> -mps <number> -xexit -debug &#40;or xdebug&#41; <more option> -fcp "./programmName>" -fd <pathToProgram> -scp the SameFor SecondProgram -size <whatever> -highlight -drag -legal -timeDelay -1 -coords -$autoflagType -xreuse -xreuse2 -sgf <more options> -mg <number>