How does improve a chess engine?

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

Patatov

How does improve a chess engine?

Post by Patatov »

I'm always amazed when a new version of a known engine come out and that there's a significant strength increase (ZapChess, Chess Tiger etc...).
Of course I can check the readme to see what has been done but I'm not a programmer and I still don't know how the programmers improve their engines? Are they just trying code changes and evaluating the strength impact against other engines or on specific positions?
99% of the programmers are average players so how do they add a few more elo points to their program? How do they know where to change something on the code?
Andres Valverde

Re: How does improve a chess engine?

Post by Andres Valverde »

Patatov wrote:I'm always amazed when a new version of a known engine come out and that there's a significant strength increase (ZapChess, Chess Tiger etc...).
Of course I can check the readme to see what has been done but I'm not a programmer and I still don't know how the programmers improve their engines? Are they just trying code changes and evaluating the strength impact against other engines or on specific positions?
99% of the programmers are average players so how do they add a few more elo points to their program? How do they know where to change something on the code?
Hi Andre,

Chess knowledge is a great help for engine programmers, there are lot of them with a high level e.g. Vasik, Vincent (Diep).. Their chess player intuition give them a clue about changes needed to improve. They can discard changes very soon if they realize that they are not good enough. So they get TIME, but still have to test.