uci eval command

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

elcabesa
Posts: 855
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 1:32 pm

Re: uci eval command

Post by elcabesa »

thank you all :)
User avatar
lucasart
Posts: 3232
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 1:29 pm
Full name: lucasart

Re: uci eval command

Post by lucasart »

elcabesa wrote:hi,
Stockfish implement a non standard uci command "Eval" that help debugging the engine. I have impemented it in Vajolet too.

The Eval debug print the static eval of the position and it also print some term of th evaluation. Do you know any other engine (UCI if possibile) implementing this command or a sort of it?

I know I can use a search at depth1 and take the cp but it's not like the static eval :)
DiscoCheck also responds to the "eval" command, but it's not as well implemented as in SF. It just displays the board (equivalent to SF's "d" command) and the eval with no details. Example:

Code: Select all

$ uci
id name DiscoCheck 5.2.1
id author Lucas Braesch
option name Hash type spin default 16 min 1 max 8192
option name Clear Hash type button
option name Contempt type spin default 25 min 0 max 100
option name Ponder type check default false
option name Time Buffer type spin default 100 min 0 max 1000
uciok
$ isready
readyok
$ ucinewgame
$ position startpos moves e2e4 c7c5
$ eval
 r n b q k b n r
 p p . p p p p p
 . . . . . . . .
 . . p . . . . .
 . . . . P . . .
 . . . . . . . .
 P P P P . P P P
 R N B Q K B N R
rnbqkbnr/pp1ppppp/8/2p5/4P3/8/PPPP1PPP/RNBQKBNR w KQkq - 0 2
eval = 15
$ quit
Theory and practice sometimes clash. And when that happens, theory loses. Every single time.
jdart
Posts: 4366
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:23 am
Location: http://www.arasanchess.org

Re: uci eval command

Post by jdart »

Arasan has an "eval" command but only in Winboard mode (not UCI). It takes a file as argument containing a FEN position.

If you compile the scoring module with debug flags (PAWN_DEBUG and/or EVAL_DEBUG) it also dumps a lot of details about the eval process.

--Jon
User avatar
hgm
Posts: 27795
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 10:06 am
Location: Amsterdam
Full name: H G Muller

Re: uci eval command

Post by hgm »

In Spartacus I just print the eval info as thinking output, before the first depth 1 PV. Then I don't have to mess with command line, but can monitor them through the GUI.
User avatar
Ajedrecista
Posts: 1968
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 9:04 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain.

Re: UCI eval command.

Post by Ajedrecista »

Hello Marco:
elcabesa wrote:hi,
Stockfish implement a non standard uci command "Eval" that help debugging the engine. I have impemented it in Vajolet too.

The Eval debug print the static eval of the position and it also print some term of th evaluation. Do you know any other engine (UCI if possibile) implementing this command or a sort of it?

I know I can use a search at depth1 and take the cp but it's not like the static eval :)
Critter also has it. Just open the executable and write psq:

Code: Select all

Critter v1.6a 32-bit, by Richard Vida
hardware POPCNT disabled
psq
             | Score | White     Mg     Eg | Black     Mg     Eg
-------------+-------+---------------------+--------------------
        pawn | +0.00 | -0.77  -0.77  -0.79 | +0.77  +0.77  +0.79
        king | +0.00 | -0.01  -0.01  -0.28 | +0.01  +0.01  +0.28
      knight | +0.00 | -0.85  -0.85  -0.34 | +0.85  +0.85  +0.34
      bishop | +0.00 | -0.22  -0.22  -0.03 | +0.22  +0.22  +0.03
        rook | +0.00 | -0.12  -0.12  +0.00 | +0.12  +0.12  +0.00
       queen | +0.00 | -0.07  -0.07  -0.07 | +0.07  +0.07  +0.07
-------------+-------+---------------------+--------------------
       total | +0.00 | -2.06  -2.06  -1.53 | +2.06  +2.06  +1.53
Good luck with the development of Vajolet2.

Regards from Spain.

Ajedrecista.
User avatar
Evert
Posts: 2929
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 12:42 am
Location: NL

Re: uci eval command

Post by Evert »

hgm wrote:In Spartacus I just print the eval info as thinking output, before the first depth 1 PV. Then I don't have to mess with command line, but can monitor them through the GUI.
Funny. I have a special "eval" command (and others) so I can work from the command line and don't have to mess with a GUI. :P
asanjuan
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 5:38 pm
Location: Seville, Spain

Re: uci eval command

Post by asanjuan »

Rhetoric also has a non-standard eval command.

the usage is like this:

Code: Select all

Rhetoric 1.4.3 Beta x64 UCI by Alberto Sanjuan, Spain
position startpos moves d2d4 g8f6 c2c4 e7e6 b1c3 f8b4 d1c2
eval
returns

Code: Select all

eval -17
Still learning how to play chess...
knigths move in "L" shape ¿right?
elcabesa
Posts: 855
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 1:32 pm

Re: UCI eval command.

Post by elcabesa »

Ajedrecista wrote:Hello Marco:
elcabesa wrote:hi,
Stockfish implement a non standard uci command "Eval" that help debugging the engine. I have impemented it in Vajolet too.

The Eval debug print the static eval of the position and it also print some term of th evaluation. Do you know any other engine (UCI if possibile) implementing this command or a sort of it?

I know I can use a search at depth1 and take the cp but it's not like the static eval :)
Critter also has it. Just open the executable and write psq:

Code: Select all

Critter v1.6a 32-bit, by Richard Vida
hardware POPCNT disabled
psq
             | Score | White     Mg     Eg | Black     Mg     Eg
-------------+-------+---------------------+--------------------
        pawn | +0.00 | -0.77  -0.77  -0.79 | +0.77  +0.77  +0.79
        king | +0.00 | -0.01  -0.01  -0.28 | +0.01  +0.01  +0.28
      knight | +0.00 | -0.85  -0.85  -0.34 | +0.85  +0.85  +0.34
      bishop | +0.00 | -0.22  -0.22  -0.03 | +0.22  +0.22  +0.03
        rook | +0.00 | -0.12  -0.12  +0.00 | +0.12  +0.12  +0.00
       queen | +0.00 | -0.07  -0.07  -0.07 | +0.07  +0.07  +0.07
-------------+-------+---------------------+--------------------
       total | +0.00 | -2.06  -2.06  -1.53 | +2.06  +2.06  +1.53
Good luck with the development of Vajolet2.

Regards from Spain.

Ajedrecista.
psq code does eval the position or it print out some partial results?
User avatar
Fabio Gobbato
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:45 am
Full name: Fabio Gobbato

Re: UCI eval command.

Post by Fabio Gobbato »

critter supports the eval command too.
Robert Pope
Posts: 558
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 8:27 pm

Re: UCI eval command.

Post by Robert Pope »

On a related note, I would like to run a large number of epd positions through one of the better engines and collect the static evaluation (or, barring that, a one ply search), so I can identify positions where my own program's evaluation is significantly different. Is there maybe already a tool that could do that?