New Year's resolution: a chess engine written in BASH script

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

benstoker
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:05 am

New Year's resolution: a chess engine written in BASH script

Post by benstoker »

It's stoopid, I know. But, it's been done in Javascript. I would like to see an obviously very basic script that searches 3 or 4 ply, with simple piece value eval. A minimax and no alpha-beta, etc.

Anybody out there who could help?

The world is crying out for a BASH chess engine.
zullil
Posts: 6442
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:31 am
Location: PA USA
Full name: Louis Zulli

Re: New Year's resolution: a chess engine written in BASH sc

Post by zullil »

benstoker wrote:It's stoopid, I know. But, it's been done in Javascript. I would like to see an obviously very basic script that searches 3 or 4 ply, with simple piece value eval. A minimax and no alpha-beta, etc.

Anybody out there who could help?

The world is crying out for a BASH chess engine.
Will you call it BAnSHee? Or maybe just BASHer?
zullil
Posts: 6442
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:31 am
Location: PA USA
Full name: Louis Zulli

Re: New Year's resolution: a chess engine written in BASH sc

Post by zullil »

zullil wrote:
Will you call it BAnSHee? Or maybe just BASHer?
Actually, since it will take a beating, maybe BASHee is best. :D
benstoker
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:05 am

Re: New Year's resolution: a chess engine written in BASH sc

Post by benstoker »

zullil wrote:
zullil wrote:
Will you call it BAnSHee? Or maybe just BASHer?
Actually, since it will take a beating, maybe BASHee is best. :D

"BASHee" it is.

But, you are incorrect about it "taking a beating". I plan to ask that it be run on the 128 bit Toby Tal 'server'.
User avatar
hgm
Posts: 27787
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 10:06 am
Location: Amsterdam
Full name: H G Muller

Re: New Year's resolution: a chess engine written in BASH sc

Post by hgm »

Well, it can't be that difficult to translate micro-Max 1.6 into a bash script? Only bout 100 lines...
Michael Sherwin
Posts: 3196
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 3:00 am
Location: WY, USA
Full name: Michael Sherwin

Re: New Year's resolution: a chess engine written in BASH sc

Post by Michael Sherwin »

hgm wrote:Well, it can't be that difficult to translate micro-Max 1.6 into a bash script? Only bout 100 lines...
Haskell would be much more interesting! :D

http://hackage.haskell.org/platform/
If you are on a sidewalk and the covid goes beep beep
Just step aside or you might have a bit of heat
Covid covid runs through the town all day
Can the people ever change their ways
Sherwin the covid's after you
Sherwin if it catches you you're through
benstoker
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:05 am

Re: New Year's resolution: a chess engine written in BASH sc

Post by benstoker »

hgm wrote:Well, it can't be that difficult to translate micro-Max 1.6 into a bash script? Only bout 100 lines...
But can you do C pointers in BASH? Too advanced for BASH, non?
User avatar
Don
Posts: 5106
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 4:27 pm

Re: New Year's resolution: a chess engine written in BASH sc

Post by Don »

benstoker wrote:It's stoopid, I know. But, it's been done in Javascript. I would like to see an obviously very basic script that searches 3 or 4 ply, with simple piece value eval. A minimax and no alpha-beta, etc.

Anybody out there who could help?

The world is crying out for a BASH chess engine.
I took quite a bit of time, but I did it! And it plays pretty strong too!

Here is my script:

Code: Select all

-------[ snip ]-------
#!/bin/bash

/home/drd/bin/komodo
--------[snip]--------
zullil
Posts: 6442
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:31 am
Location: PA USA
Full name: Louis Zulli

Re: New Year's resolution: a chess engine written in BASH sc

Post by zullil »

Don wrote:
benstoker wrote:It's stoopid, I know. But, it's been done in Javascript. I would like to see an obviously very basic script that searches 3 or 4 ply, with simple piece value eval. A minimax and no alpha-beta, etc.

Anybody out there who could help?

The world is crying out for a BASH chess engine.
I took quite a bit of time, but I did it! And it plays pretty strong too!

Here is my script:

Code: Select all

-------[ snip ]-------
#!/bin/bash

/home/drd/bin/komodo
--------[snip]--------
Looks like a clone to me. :twisted:
Dann Corbit
Posts: 12537
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA

Re: New Year's resolution: a chess engine written in BASH sc

Post by Dann Corbit »

zullil wrote:
Don wrote:
benstoker wrote:It's stoopid, I know. But, it's been done in Javascript. I would like to see an obviously very basic script that searches 3 or 4 ply, with simple piece value eval. A minimax and no alpha-beta, etc.

Anybody out there who could help?

The world is crying out for a BASH chess engine.
I took quite a bit of time, but I did it! And it plays pretty strong too!

Here is my script:

Code: Select all

-------[ snip ]-------
#!/bin/bash

/home/drd/bin/komodo
--------[snip]--------
Looks like a clone to me. :twisted:
Nope. That's a clown.