Arasan 15.2

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

jdart
Posts: 4366
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:23 am
Location: http://www.arasanchess.org

Arasan 15.2

Post by jdart »

Arasan 15.2 is available from http://www.arasanchess.org. This is basically the version that played in the recent CCT tournament.

Changes in Arasan 15.2:

1) Some speed improvements especially when multithreaded.
2) Code cleanup and bug fixes related to draw handling (could lose on
time in server games, in rare cases, due to problems in this area).
3) Some more code conversion to C++ style intead of C. Use STL pair template.
4) Minimum search time changed to 10ms to better support very fast test
games.
5) Bug fix in code for checks in qsearch: ensure checking moves do not
place own king in check.
6) Some weights changed in scoring module based on CLOP.
7) Simplified razoring code.
8) Qsearch forward pruning changes. We use only pre-selection of captures now, not traditional forward pruning. Margins for this adjusted.
9) Linux-specific bug fix for occasional crashes when >2 threads in use.
10) Fix in aspiration window code for rare overflow condition when
failing low with a mate score.
11) Fix bug setting hash sizes > 2GB through Winboard/UCI.
12) Somewhat more general Rook pawn vs wrong color Bishop draw detection.

This version is measurably stronger than 15.1 but nothing dramatic: I think around 20 ELO.

--Jon
User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 41423
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 10:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Arasan 15.2

Post by Graham Banks »

jdart wrote:Arasan 15.2 is available from http://www.arasanchess.org. This is basically the version that played in the recent CCT tournament.
Looking forward to trying it out. :)
gbanksnz at gmail.com
User avatar
geots
Posts: 4790
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:42 am

Can Anyone Please Answer This about Arasan!!!

Post by geots »

I have thought about it before, but never mentioned it. But it is bothering me. There my be an answer in one of the files after extraction- but if so- I have overlooked it.

For Windows, there are always 2 executables: arasanx.exe & arasanx-64.exe. I always use arasanx-64.exe. But I noticed that the other exe when loaded- says "*32" in task manager. But when you run it in console mode it says 64-bit also. And it sure runs a hell of a NPS for a 32-bit.

So.................. which is it?


Best,

george
Tom Likens
Posts: 303
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Arasan 15.2

Post by Tom Likens »

Thanks Jon.

BTW, are we going to get an Arasan blow-by-blow report for CCT15? Those posts were
always highly entertaining and did a great job of recreating the event.

regards,
--tom
jdart
Posts: 4366
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:23 am
Location: http://www.arasanchess.org

Re: Can Anyone Please Answer This about Arasan!!!

Post by jdart »

arasan.exe is a 32-bit executable.

--Jon
jdart
Posts: 4366
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:23 am
Location: http://www.arasanchess.org

Re: Arasan 15.2

Post by jdart »

I will try to put something together. I was watching the games but haven't done any offline analysis yet.

--Jon
User avatar
Andres Valverde
Posts: 557
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: Almeria. SPAIN

Re: Arasan 15.2

Post by Andres Valverde »

Congrats Jon !
Saludos, Andres
Jouni
Posts: 3285
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:15 pm

Re: Arasan 15.2

Post by Jouni »

64b version crashes always in my PC (15.1 not) :!: Only SSE2 compile maybe?
Jouni
jdart
Posts: 4366
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:23 am
Location: http://www.arasanchess.org

Re: Arasan 15.2

Post by jdart »

What version of Windows do you have (XP?).

--Jon
Jouni
Posts: 3285
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:15 pm

Re: Arasan 15.2

Post by Jouni »

Windows 7.
Jouni